Makeup travel essentials

As I mentioned I’ve just got back from a six-month wonder in South America. And as such I had to think long and hard about what I wanted to pack for the journey. In among that list was makeup but what ended up making the cut? Here’s what I took along:

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara in black: Mascara’s everyone’s favourite essential right? I’d heard bloggers rave about this high street version so picked this up before I left. However, although I liked the plastic wand, I didn’t see what the massive fuss was and wish I’d stuck with my tried and tested Benefit Roller Lash or Max Factor Masterpiece Max.

Rimmel Scandaleyes Thick and Thin Liner: I’m a liquid liner girl but once again, for some unfathomable reason, I chose to take an untested liner away with me. I really like the colour and price of this but I’m just not sure pen liners are for me. Next time it’s Rimmel Glam’Eyes all the way.

Mac Viva Glam I Lipstick: I packed this for the (very) occasional night of glamour. Which turned out to just be Christmas. But at least it was on hand if I had wanted to use it.

Forever Sun Lip Balm (not pictured): For those dry lip days this was great to keep my lips hydrated and had added SPF to boot. The tingle was a bit of a shock to begin with but I actually started to enjoy it as time went on.

Nivea Rich Moisturising Day Cream: Cheap day cream that did what it said on the tube. I did have to replenish while I was away though as I was squeezing it to death by the time March came along.

Simple Kind to Skin Facial Cleansing Wipes: OK we all know these aren’t the best method of cleaning off makeup but I was packing light! And in the end I didn’t even use all these up so I’m glad I went with these rather than down the cotton balls and cleanser route.

FullSizeRender

In the end it turned out while I was travelling I didn’t really care about makeup at all.  Although I had my little essentials kit packed, the days I went makeup free far outweighed those with a little eyeliner or mascara. In fact I only turned to them when I was having an off-day and wanted to treat myself a bit.

So although I didn’t take much I could have actually got away with nothing, bar the moisturiser and lip balm and been completely happy. I also wouldn’t travel again with makeup I’d never tried before. I know this sounds like a given but apparently pre-travelling me didn’t think that way.

No makeup isn’t for everyone though so what would you take on holiday? Do you have any makeup tips for long trips away?

Leave a Reply

